NPM Researcher

Professor Poia Rewi

Ngāti Manawa, Tūhoe, Te Arawa
Te Tumu
University of Otago

Professor Poia Rewi lectures at Te Tumu (School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies), the University of Otago. His main areas of research and teaching, and community engagement involve the Māori language, Māori culture, education and performing arts. He is Co-Principal Investigator on the three-year Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga Pae Tawhiti initiative on Te Reo Māori.


Professor Cindy Kiro

Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Kahu, Ngāti Hine
Head of School Te Kura Maori
Victoria University of Wellington

Cindy Kiro is the Director of The Starpath Project, at the University of Auckland and was previously Head of School Te Kura Māori at Victoria University and Children’s Commissioner. Her areas of research expertise are Public Health, Māori Health, Children and Young People Policy, and Māori Development. She is a lead author on “Trends in Wellbeing for Māori households/families, 1981–2006".

Donna Ngaronoa Gardiner

Ngaiterangi, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Pukenga

Donna Gardiner is a PhD scholar of NPM. Her doctoral research project "Ka Whawhai Tonu Matou - Our struggle to transform” - looks at Maori leadership today, in a modern context. Donna was previously Research and Community Coordinator for NPM and coordinated the translation of NPM research and activities to our communities, specifically Māori and indigenous, to make positive change. She also coordinated opportunities such as hui, wānanga and conferences for these communities to discuss their research ideas and issues, and creative potential.

Dr Joseph Te Rito

Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu
Kaihautū Mātauranga Māori

Dr Joseph (Joe) Te Rito was Kaihautū Tikanga; Senior Research Fellow – Tikanga and Reo at Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga (NPM) until December 2015, where he provided advice and guidance in Tikanga Māori, Te Reo Māori and community/Iwi relationships, as well as conducting research relevant to the NPM Research Plan. Joe was also an assessor and senior advisor for NPM's Grants and Awards programme.