Recognition for a lifetimes work

Amongst twenty new Fellows and three Honorary Fellows recently elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi for their distinction in research and advancement of science, technology and the humanities were NPM Co-Director Professor Waimarie Nikora and Principal Investigator Professor Angus Macfarlane.
Professor Angus Macfarlane (University of Canterbury)
Angus has worked as lead researcher on some significant NPM projects including Ka Awatea: An iwi case study of Māori students experiencing success. He is a Professor of Māori Research and Director of the Māori Research Laboratory Te Rū Rangahau at the University of Canterbury, and his deliberate bi-cultural approach to research is best exemplified in his seminal models, the ‘Educultural Wheel’, used extensively in schools in New Zealand, and his ‘He Awa Whiria’ framework that was adopted as a model of best practice by Superu for its research on whānau and families.
NPM Co-Director Professor LInda Waimarie Nikora (University of Auckland)

Linda Waimarie is a Māori scholar and leader whose research has been transformative for Māori and for the discipline of psychology. She has contributed to projects which include important research investigations into Māori health, development, culture change and resilience, death, Indigenous psychology, Māori sexuality, and media representations. She is the author of five books and numerous research articles and her research into the development of a kaupapa Maori curriculum fundamentally changed ways of working, researching, and training for indigenous psychologists worldwide.