MAI Journal - New Editorial Board Members

MAI Journal has recently welcomed a group of new editorial board members who will continue to guide and enhance the quality, reach and impact of the journal into the future.

The new members of the MAI Journal editorial board are:


  • Dr Anne-Marie Jackson (Ngāti Whātua, Te Roroa, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Wai, Ngāti Kahu o Whangaroa), University of Otago
  • Dr Arama Rata (Ngāti Maniapoto, Taranaki, Ngāruahine), University of Waikato
  • Dr Carwyn Jones (Ngāti Kahungunu, Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki), Victoria University of Wellington
  • Dr Jade Le Grice (Ngāi Tupoto, Motukaraka, Ngāti Korokoro, Pākanae, Te Mahurehure), University of Auckland
  • Dr John Pirker (Ngāi Tahu), University of Canterbury
  • Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett (Ngāti Whatua), University of Otago
  • Dr Te Kawehau Hoskins (Ngāpuhi), University of Auckland
  • Dr Te Taka Keegan (Waikato-Maniapoto; Ngāti Porou; Ngāti Whakaue), University of Waikato
  • Dr Amanda Black (Tūhoe, Whakatōhea, Whānau-ā-Apanui), Lincoln University

The MAI Journal co-editors Associate Professor Melinda Webber and Dr Ocean Mercier welcome these outstanding Māori scholars onto the board to join existing members Associate Professor Peter Adds, Dr Farah Palmer, and Professor Poia Rewi.

MAI Journal, a flagship NPM publication, is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address Indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.

The journal publishes two issues per year, is only published online and aims to publish scholarly articles that substantively engage with intellectual Indigenous scholarship.

View the latest issue of the MAI Journal here